Short-Term Rental Regulations · South Carolina Lowcountry
Is Coastal Charleston short-term-rental friendly?
Often restricted, and it varies by town. Charleston limits residential permits to primary residences, Mount Pleasant caps rentals at 400, and Sullivan's Island allows only existing nonconforming rentals. Folly Beach's fee and cap are in question after a 2026 court ruling and appeal.
Last updated: . Every fact links to its official source.
Town-by-town rules
| Town | Permit required? | Annual cost | Primary-residence / night-cap limits | Lodging tax |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Charleston | Annual short-term rental permit renewal is required. The city describes short-term renting as limited and requires a permit. (City of Charleston STR permit information (opens in a new tab), City of Charleston STR FAQ (opens in a new tab)) | Zoning and application review fee is $345 effective January 1, 2024. A city business license has a $64 base fee plus $3.90 per additional $1,000 of expected income. Additional fire review fees may apply. (City of Charleston applicable fees (opens in a new tab)) | The city FAQ requires a primary residence with the 4% legal-residence assessment for residential STR permits. Investment properties are not eligible through that residential route; commercially zoned STR-overlay properties have a separate route. The FAQ limits guests to four adults and says the host must be generally available, not present for the entire stay. (City of Charleston STR FAQ (opens in a new tab)) | Charleston County Ordinance 1924, adopted December 15, 2016, states a 2% county accommodations fee. This is a dated local component, not a complete 2026 rate. Confirm current county, municipal, and state taxes before quoting a total. (Charleston County Ordinance 1924, historical rate (opens in a new tab), Charleston County current filing instructions (opens in a new tab)) |
| Charleston County (unincorporated, incl. Edisto Island) | All short-term rental properties require a zoning permit and business license. Zoning permits renew annually by December 31. (Charleston County Short-Term Rental Brochure (opens in a new tab)) | The official brochure confirms permits and business licensing but does not state a current fee amount. (Charleston County Short-Term Rental Brochure (opens in a new tab)) | Limited Home Rental is owner occupied and no more than 72 days per calendar year. Extended Home Rental is more than 72 and no more than 144 days and needs additional approvals. Commercial Guest House has separate approval rules. (Charleston County Short-Term Rental Brochure (opens in a new tab)) | Charleston County Ordinance 1924, adopted December 15, 2016, states a 2% county accommodations fee. This is a dated local component, not a complete 2026 rate. Confirm current county, municipal, and state taxes before quoting a total. (Charleston County Ordinance 1924, historical rate (opens in a new tab), Charleston County current filing instructions (opens in a new tab)) |
| Folly Beach | Short-term rental licenses and registration are required. The city publishes separate owner-occupied, investor, provisional, and long-term license categories. (City of Folly Beach short-term rentals (opens in a new tab), Folly Beach Ordinance 028-26 (opens in a new tab)) | The city webpage lists a $245 business-license base plus an income-based registration fee. A September 8, 2026 ordinance addresses removing the rental registration fee after litigation, so confirm current charges with the city before applying. (Folly Beach licensing webpage (opens in a new tab), Folly Beach Ordinance 028-26 document (opens in a new tab)) | The city webpage describes owner-occupied licenses with a 72-night annual limit, investor licensing restrictions, and a minimum of 28 nights rented a year. A September 2026 ordinance document reports an August 14, 2026 court ruling invalidating the cap, now under appeal. Confirm the current cap and whether new investor licenses are available. (Folly Beach licensing webpage (opens in a new tab), Folly Beach Ordinance 028-26 document (opens in a new tab)) | The city requires sales and accommodations taxes but does not state a combined current rate on the page. (City of Folly Beach short-term rentals (opens in a new tab)) |
| Isle of Palms | All property owners who rent residential units for any length of time must obtain an Isle of Palms short-term rental business license. (City of Isle of Palms rental licenses (opens in a new tab)) | A license is required, but the current fee is not stated on the cited page. (City of Isle of Palms rental licenses (opens in a new tab)) | The city sets occupancy by calculation. No residency cap or annual night cap was found on the cited page. (City of Isle of Palms rental licenses (opens in a new tab)) | The Isle of Palms page identifies a 2% state accommodations tax fund, which is not a city tax or a combined total. A complete current city and county breakdown was not found. (Isle of Palms accommodations-tax committee (opens in a new tab), Charleston County tax filing service (opens in a new tab)) |
| Mount Pleasant | Each short-term rental requires an annual STR permit and payment of application fees and business license fees. (Mount Pleasant Code section 156.519 (opens in a new tab)) | Application fees apply, but the cited code page does not state the current amount. (Mount Pleasant Code section 156.519 (opens in a new tab)) | The code caps residential dwelling units used as STRs at 400, subject to the code exceptions and annual application process. (Mount Pleasant Code section 156.518 (opens in a new tab)) | A current town lodging-tax component was not found. The 2% hospitality tax listed by the Business License Division applies to prepared meals, food, and beverages, not accommodations. (Mount Pleasant Business License Division (opens in a new tab), Charleston County tax filing service (opens in a new tab)) |
| Sullivan's Island | Vacation rentals are prohibited as a permitted use. Lawfully established vacation rentals are treated as nonconforming uses and require an annual certificate of zoning compliance and vacation rental business license to continue. (Sullivan's Island Code section 21-117 (opens in a new tab)) | An annual certificate and business license are required, but the cited code page does not state the current fees. (Sullivan's Island Code section 21-118 (opens in a new tab)) | No primary-residence requirement or annual rental-night cap was found in the cited materials. New vacation rentals are prohibited as a use. Only legally established nonconforming vacation rentals may continue subject to the code. (Sullivan's Island Code section 21-117 (opens in a new tab)) | County tax filing instructions cover Sullivan's Island properties, but they do not give a local rate breakdown or a combined total. Confirm current state and local taxes before listing. (Charleston County local accommodations tax filing instructions (opens in a new tab)) |
"Not found" means the restriction was not located in the linked official materials reviewed as of the update date. It does not prove that no later, uncodified, parcel-specific, or special-district rule applies.
Good to know
- Charleston: The October 21, 2026 Planning Commission agenda lists a draft STR ordinance that has not been adopted. Check with the city for any Council action, because adoption would change the rules in the city FAQ. (City of Charleston Planning Commission agenda archive (opens in a new tab), City of Charleston STR FAQ (opens in a new tab))
- Charleston County (unincorporated, incl. Edisto Island): The county brochure sets out Limited Home Rental, Extended Home Rental, and Commercial Guest House approvals. These county rules apply only if the Edisto Island parcel is in unincorporated Charleston County, not the Town of Edisto Beach. (Charleston County STR brochure (opens in a new tab))
- Folly Beach: A 2026 court ruling and appeal created uncertainty around the cap and rental registration fee. Treat the current fee and cap status as needing confirmation. (Folly Beach Ordinance 028-26 (opens in a new tab))
- Isle of Palms: The city requires revenue affidavits and fire safety acknowledgments as part of the rental-license process. (City of Isle of Palms rental licenses (opens in a new tab))
- Mount Pleasant: Existing operators apply November 15 through December 15. New applications may be considered beginning January 1, starting with the waitlist if capacity remains. Permits do not transfer on sale, and the 400 cap does not mean a permit is currently open. (Mount Pleasant Code sections 156.518 and 156.519 (opens in a new tab))
- Sullivan's Island: Sullivan's Island has its own code, separate from unincorporated Charleston County rules. (Sullivan's Island Code section 21-117 (opens in a new tab))
FAQ
Do these rules apply across all Coastal Charleston locations?
No. Charleston, unincorporated Charleston County including Edisto Island, and each beach or town jurisdiction have separate rules.
Are the Charleston County and city tax figures total lodging taxes?
No. The cited Charleston County accommodations fee is only a local component. Confirm state and any other applicable taxes.
Can an owner assume a new permit is available?
No. Mount Pleasant caps permits and uses an application process, Sullivan's Island allows only legally established nonconforming vacation rentals, and Folly Beach's 2026 fee and cap are in dispute.
What should be verified before listing?
Verify zoning, license or permit availability, current fee schedule, tax registration, occupancy, and any private covenants with the governing authority.
General information, not legal advice. Short-term rental rules change, so verify current requirements with the jurisdiction before listing.